Return to Headlines

Channelview ISD honors school board this January for advocating for local schoolchildren

Channelview ISD Honors School Board This January for Advocating for Local Schoolchildren

School Board Recognition Month Gives Community a Chance to Say Thank You

Channelview—January is School Board Recognition Month, and Channelview ISD joins the Texas Association of School Boards and other districts across the state to honor the countless contributions of these locally elected advocates for Texas schoolchildren and public schools.

“School board members tackle a difficult job and shoulder enormous responsibilities. These men and women are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for our public schools. They provide vision and leadership in their roles as advocates, and they will continue to stand up for public education and guard against anything that takes away from our children or undermines our public schools,” said Channelview ISD Superintendent Greg Ollis.  “Our district benefits from the tireless work and countless hours contributed by these local citizens who work without pay. Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, our board is responsible for 9,573 students, 1284 employees, and 12 campuses.”

Board members serving Channelview Independent School District are Mr. Keith Liggett, Mr. Patrick Lacy, Mrs. Raquel Dobbins, Mr. Steven T. Dennis, Mr. Frank R. Bryant, Pastor Kent Wilson, and Mr. Alex Ybarra.