Return to Headlines

Channelview ISD celebrates educators during the annual Celebration of Excellence

Channelview ISD celebrated employees during the annual Celebration of Excellence

Channelview Independent School District honored Teachers of the Year, Principals of the Year, Rising Stars, and retirees on May 17, 2019.  The Celebration of Excellence was held at Landry’s in Kemah, Texas.  Sponsors for the Celebration of Excellence included:  Channelview ISD Education Foundation, Charco Promotional Products, Inc., Gulf Coast Educators Federal Credit Union, Jostens, United Community Credit Union, and Woodforest National Bank.

Teachers of the Year were selected to represent their campuses during the ceremony.  The following teachers were recognized: Dawnitra Williams, Anthony Aguirre Junior High School; Mr. Orlando Santamaria, Alice Johnson Junior High; Kristina Arrambide, Barrett-Lee Early Childhood Center; Amy Kennemer, Brown Elementary; Randall Mau, Joe Frank Campbell Learning Center; John Cummings, Channelview High School; Oscar Garza, Cobb Elementary; Marcos Heredia, Crenshaw Elementary; Blanca Suarez, DeZavala Elementary; Valerson Castro, Hamblen Elementary; Gilberto Escareno Martinez,  Kolarik Ninth Grade Center; Terica Hammond, McMullan Elementary; and Jazmin Moreno, Schochler Elementary.

The Channelview Independent School District is proud to announce the 2019 CISD Elementary Teacher of the Year Ms. Terica Hammond of McMullan Elementary School, and Secondary Teacher of the Year Mr. John Cummings of Channelview High School.

Mr. Eric Lathan of Aguirre Junior High School was named Secondary Principal of the Year, and Mr. Ruben Rodriguez of DeZavala Elementary was named Elementary Principal of the Year.

Channelview ISD employees retiring in the 2018-2019 school year include Karen Allen, Brown Elementary; Karen Bartrip, McMullan Elementary; Deborah Blasingame, Hamblen Elementary; Shirley Brewer, Maintenance Services; Larry Brown, Maintenance Services; Terry Bunn, Channelview High School; Pam Carpenter, Crenshaw Elementary; Isabel Carrizales, Transportation Services; Audrey Carter Jones, Early Childhood Center; Cherylon Fontaine, Alice Johnson Junior High; Sandra Hartman, Administration; Karen Hebert, Channelview High School; Dorrie Jones, Transportation Services; Delia Medina, Early Childhood Center; Miriam Mendez-Valentin, Crenshaw Elementary; Patsy Moss, McMullan Elementary; Kimberly Roberts, Crenshaw Elementary; Shelia Roberts, Alice Johnson Junior High; Pam Stelly, Hamblen Elementary; Franciso Valdez, Maintenance Services; Maria Vargas, Brown Elementary; and Clarissa Winans of Nutrition Services.